So, Why Am I Here… Take A Look At This

So, you may be wondering why this blog exists.

Fair. That’s a fair question.

So far it feels like a project to see how many times I can incorporate the word “Look” into text and titles in fun and creative ways, but that’s not its full intent. I suppose I want somewhere to explore what’s going on in my head. Somewhere to document the things I’m experiencing in my creative-focused lifestyle, somewhere to have an outside “gig”, somewhere to explore what I can do outside of work while also helping myself to understand how I’m progressing in my field.

If you’re confused by what this means, fear not, I’ll get better. Let get me start by backtracking and give you the low down on what it is my life actually Looks like. (See what I did there?)

10956634_10153316990843980_8930010951064073914_n
Here I am in my backyard. (Huge lie. This was taken in Portugal while traveling during my semester abroad.) I actually live in good ole Peoria, Illinois. Aka. Not glamorous. But let’s pretend.


My name is Jen.
I am a 22-year-old (but give me 16 days and I will officially be 23). I love design, cats, Taco Bell and long walks at night with a pint of ice cream and a metal spoon in hand. I just made a chicken & avocado burger solely because I thought it Looked cool. It tasted fine, but I primarily enjoy that it Looks different from the usual stir fry or omelette I muster up the energy to make. I love being organized but if you walked into my room right now, that may not be the judgement you make of me. I promise you though, I clean my room about everyday, it’s just I can never get myself up in the morning which causes frantic outfit-picking and makeup-doing… so, by the time I get home from work, I Look like a total slob again.

This may seem like I’m completely off topic, but stick with me, I promise I’m going somewhere with this.

The point is. I love the way things Look.

I make certain foods because I want it to Look nice before I eat it. I clean my room everyday because I love having it Look nice even though it won’t stay that way for more than a matter of hours.  I am a graphic designer because I love to create things that Look nice and other people may appreciate enough to take a Closer Look.

FullSizeRender 3Here lies Jen one morning before work. You’ll see my room isn’t in too rough of shape but I definitely have some things to put away. Give me ten minutes… you won’t see the floor.

So, that’s why I’m here.

I want to explore that ways things Look. This may include DIY projects that I do in my apartment, sketches I randomly am inspired to make, projects I’m working at work, or if I feel it’s interesting enough to note, a Look inside my life as a 22-year-old Creative Director, who just may be over her head half of the time but couldn’t be more grateful.

If you’re curious:
• I used “Look” 12 times in this post
• I live in Peoria, Illinois
• I graduated May 2016 with a degree in Graphic Design and a Minor in Social Media Marketing
• I work at Bump Boxes, a pregnancy subscription company (but I’m sure I will get into that much more later)

That’s all for now. Give my page a follow to see what pops up next!

 

Leave a comment